Vislielākais burtu izmērs
Lielāks burtu izmērs
Burtu standarta izmērs
Physics and chemistry of interaction between electromagnetic radiation and materials
Last Update

Council of the Doctoral School

  • Arturs Vīksna, Dr.chem. (Faculty of Chemistry) – Chairperson;
  • Jānis Spīgulis, Dr.h.fiz. (Institute of Atomic Physics and Spectroscopy) – Vice Chair;
  • Liāna Orola, Dr.chem. (Faculty of Chemistry) – Secretary;
  • Atis Skudra, Dr.fiz. (Institute of Atomic Physics and Spectroscopy);
  • Andris Actiņš, Dr.chem. (Faculty of Chemistry);
  • Guntars Vaivars, Dr.chem. (Faculty of Chemistry);
  • Edmunds Tamanis, Dr.fiz. (Daugavpils University);
  • Ivo Leito (Ivo Leito), Dr.chem. (University of Tartu, Estonia);
  • Jurgens Ropke (Jürgen Röpcke), PhD (Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology, Germany);
  • Valdis Kampars, Dr.h.chem. (Riga Technical University);
  • Kārlis Agris Gross, PhD (Riga Technical University).

(Approved 08.12.2011. with University of Latvia Rector’s order No. 1/325)

About Doctoral School

The work of the Doctoral School “Physics and chemistry of interaction between electromagnetic radiation and materials” is interdisciplinary and coordinates the joint effort to prepare highly qualified young PhD students in the areas of nuclear physics, spectroscopy, physical and analytical chemistry, pharmaceutical technology by performing studies in the following areas:

  • Analytical development and improvement of X-ray, spectrometric, and mass spectrometric methods;
  • Synthesis, structure, stability and phase transition kinetics of crystalline forms of active pharmaceutical ingredients;
  • Sorbent development using local raw materials and studies of their physicochemical properties;
  • Development of impedance spectrometry as a method of study of liquid and solid organic and inorganic materials;
  • Optical methods to control human organ parameters and development of optical biosensors;
  • Optical diagnostics of low temperature plasma in non-electrode lamps and their application in analytical equipment;
  • Development of analytical methods to measure and monitoring mercury pollution in various environments (air, water, solids).

For more information contact:

Chairman of the Doctoral School
Professor Arturs Vīksna – email:

Secretary of the Doctoral School
Dr. chem. Liāna Orola – email: